New This Year! Female Driver of the Year Award

The goal of WIT’s Female Driver of the Year is to recognize outstanding female professional drivers who lead the industry in safety standards and actively work to enhance the public image of the trucking industry. The grand prize winner will be chosen based on safety record, impact on the industry’s image, and positive community contributions. Nominations close February 15, 2020.

Sponsored by:


View Sample Nomination Form


  • This contest is open to any female driver or contractor who has safely driven one million consecutive, accident-free miles. 
  • A driver must be nominated by the motor carrier by which she is currently leased to or employed. 
  • The nominee must have been employed by or leased to and driving for her current trucking company employer for the past three years.


  1. The application must be completed online and submitted through WIT’s online application process which will be mid November-February 15th.
  2. Verification of submitted information will include direct contact with the motor carrier by which the entrant is employed and may include credit reports, motor vehicle reports, and other investigation as required.
  3. Each company may nominate up to five drivers. However, only one driver per company can qualify for placement among the top three finalists.
  4. Please note that the judges will carefully scrutinize claims of an excessive number of miles driven annually. Any claim of more than 125,000 miles driven annually must be accompanied by a statement from the company CEO explaining average length of haul, number of hours on duty, and how the miles were logged legally.
  5. Erroneous or false information provided in the application will result in immediate disqualification.
  6. All prizewinners are responsible for any applicable federal, state, and local taxes.
  7. The Association shall retain all applications for one year; therefore, no applications or pictures will be returned.
  8. Four print-quality photographs (300 dpi) featuring the entrant’s head and shoulders and taken within the last year must be submitted with the application. They may eventually be used for publicity purposes if the driver is selected as one of the top three finalists.
  9. With due respect for privacy, the contents of the finalists’ applications that reflect positively upon the trucking industry may be used for promotional, educational, and training purposes by the Association.
  10. The judges’ decision is final.


  • The top three finalists will be announced via press release in early 2020.
  • The grand prize winner will be announced during the “Salute to Women Behind the Wheel” at the Mid-America Trucking Show on Friday, March 27, 2020 in Louisville, Kentucky.


  • By participating, all contestants agree to share photos and application information with the contest sponsors. 
  • The finalists will be interviewed and photographed for profiles that will appear in industry publications.
  • The top three finalists will be expected to attend the awards ceremony at which the grand prize winner will be announced. The ceremony will be held at the “Salute to Women Behind the Wheel” at the Mid-America Trucking Show, Friday, March 27, 2020 in Louisville, Kentucky.
  • The grand prize winner may need to represent the contest and industry at events during the year following his/her award.


Questions? Contact Lana Nichols at 920-737-9490 or [email protected].